Assistance with Flow Control Assigment

0 Alicia Scott · October 23, 2015
Hello! I'm completely new to java. I've been given a rather tricky assignment that deals with the for flow control loop. My professor isn't very helpful, and his former classmates that I have reached out to say the curriculum has changed and they have no idea what to do. Awesome, right? I was referred to this forum by a former student. She said great things about you guys. 

I'll copy and paste the directions and if you guys could translate in standard English what is going on, that would be great. If you're more into solving it for me then by all means go ahead -- but I'm also interested in actually comprehending what is being asked of me so that I can be successful in future assignments.

I have to gather numerical input from a user, then output the individual numbers as well as the sum of those numbers. (For example, 1234 as 1 2 3 4 and 10.) 

Tips: 
You need the JOptionPane Class's Input DialogBox to collect all the numbers as one String value e.g. "321"

Create a for loop with the length of the String set as the  maximum interations e.g. assuming "321" is stored in a variable named str, set up the for loop header as for(int i = 0; i<str.length(); i++)

Inside the for loop use the String class's chartAt method to extract the individual String characters while type casting them into integer data types e.g. (int)str.charAt(i) ; 

Note that (int)str.charAt(i) ; will extract the ASCII or Unicode value of the character. For instance if you type cast '3', you get the Unicode value of 51. To resolve this is, subtract the cast value from 48 to get the actual value e.g.  Assuming the current  value of i is '3', (int)str.charAt(i) - 48 give you the actual value 3
While you are extracting the actual values, you can add them to your accumulator variable during each iteration, and then display the result of the accumulator outside the loop.