PHP popularity?

+3 Drazen Ivancan · October 19, 2015

I was wondering what is your opinion about PHP programming language popularity?
How much is PHP popular amongst employers?
Is that job in demand in the world?

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Jayge Ekenstam · October 19, 2015
PHP is extremely popular. Here in Utah around 8 in 10 jobs in programming are for PHP. Everyone wants dynamic websites. 
+1 Drazen Ivancan · October 28, 2015
Thank you for your response Jayge. But is there any future for PHP in the next 10 years considering Java and Ruby?
Also I presume there are many self-taught and educated PHP programmers which lowers fees and allows only the best programmers to win jobs.
I wonder is there any point to start learning PHP and finish as an average self-taught programmer who cannot find a job or start learning Java and finish as an average self-taught programmer who still can find a a job.
0 Akkarachai Wangcharoensap · November 1, 2015
It depends on what do you want to do. Java would really be good at both. However, sometimes PHP is a better choice for web development. If you are really worry about popularity, just go with Java. But really, it depends on what your goal is. 
+3 Thomas Straub · November 1, 2015