Adding a search bar

0 Reginald Johnson · October 10, 2015
When I put the code to create a search bar in the app I'm building and click run on my phone it says the app has stopped working, but before adding the code, the app worked fine. Can anyone give me some suggestions as I am new to programming?

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Gary Whitney · October 10, 2015
I have had this error many times.
It is usually a logic error.
The code compiles but  then tries to do something that "doesn't compute".
0 Reginald Johnson · October 12, 2015
Is there a way to fix this to get the app to work?
0 Gary Whitney · October 14, 2015
Do you know how to use the debugger?
You can set a breakpoint before the new code.

Or you can try the old fashion way of commenting out the code you added and selectively adding back a few lines after each run.
Pay particular attention to your references. Ex. Did  you  ref the widget you meant to? If you try to run a method on the wrong type of widget, that won't work.
0 Reginald Johnson · October 17, 2015
No I don't know how to debug yet, I just started to learn how to program. How do you know when you're using the right widget? 
0 Gary Whitney · October 17, 2015
It has only been 3 days since my reply and I have found 3 more ways to get halt my program.
1. Today I was following and example in a book and made a style that wasn't compatible with my activity. (Wouldn't even launch)
2. Yesterday I forgot to include the required parameters in an override. (died when I clicked a button)
3. I passed the wrong type of value.

The answer to your question about  the right widget has to do with findViewById()
findViewById looks for the id you defined with the Android:id tag in your xml.

Here is my suggestion.
Reply with more information:
1. Include a screen dump of the error or just copy and paste the first few lines when the log file turns Red.
you  can use the add image icon to paste the screen dump.