Trouble learning concepts in Java class

0 Bucky Dotjava · October 2, 2015
Hey everyone,

I'm new to this website after having known Bucky's channel for years. I've enrolled into my first programming class ever with the exception, and if you even count it, of HTML in high school. I've ran into a problem and I'm sure many others have this same one which is that I'm not understanding what my instructor is trying to say. He has explained things in such a dull, lackadaisical way that it's caused me to leave during lectures because I could not understand what was going on. Does anyone know what I can do other than watching Bucky's videos or growing a pair and just sitting through those dreaded two hour lectures? If it helps, the book we use is called An Introduction To Programming with Java Applets, 3rd Edition by Elizabeth Sugar Boese.

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Manuel Alvarez · October 4, 2015
I think Bucky is a great teacher, I'm not kidding. As a teacher myself, I would advise you guys to not buy any books. Follow Bucky's tutorials and also learn from Oracle's basic training Java tutorial on Oracle's website. And besides, always remember that to be a good programmer, you need a gang mentality. Meet people, know friends who like to program as well and share your knowledge. The ninja coder is a bad myth. The best and most productive programmer is the one who can contact his friends any time and ask for some sound advise.
Good luck!
0 Zack Shea · October 2, 2015