Im really new to android development and coding and I have this quesion

0 Mert AKUZUM · September 19, 2015
We oftenly use something called "this". I really dont understant what is that and why we use it. 
for example, when we code 
this.gestureDetector = new GestureDetectorCompat(this,this);
gestureDetector.setOnDoubleTapListener(this);
why we use the "this" stuff? can someone explain with detail.

I also dont understand why sometimes we do
public void
private
public static

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Narjis Hasan · September 21, 2015
This is a pointer. Think of it as if you are pointing your finger towards something and saying 'this'. For example, you have a whole lot of shelves, full of books. And you point over to one and say 'Today I'm gonna read the book ABC from this shelf'
So when you are saying 
this.gestureDetector = new GestureDetectorCompat(this,this);
gestureDetector.setOnDoubleTapListener(this);

you are picking the current object and saying that the gestureDetector in this (current) object is equal to a GestureDetectorCompat (you're creating a GestureDetectorCompat - a new object) using the attributes(qualities), passing them as parameters. Two parameters are required here and they are both from this object.

This is not a very technical explanation, but hope it helps you in understanding "this".
0 SHADE SPIRIT · September 21, 2015
Hi @Mert_AKUZUM :D

"this" keyword is ofently used in java and has many functionalities, but the three most functionalities you would be interrested in are:

1)  refer to a variable: example public void method(int x, double y){ y=0; this.x = x }
//"this.x" is a variable, whereas "x" is a parameter.
//while x,y are also declared as variables in the class that defines "method".

2) refer to a class (object): example this.object //means that we are refering to "that" object.