Reading multiple strings with scanf

+1 Arend Peter Castelein · July 20, 2014
Hello. I'm new to c++ and I'm trying to do a programming challenge where I need to process 2 strings in one line but I'm getting an issue.
I've created a new file isolating the error. Here's what I have:
#include <stdio.h>

int main(){
char a[4],c[4];
int b,d;
scanf("%4s %d %4s %d",a,&b,c,&d);
printf("%s %d %s %d",a,b,c,d);
return 0;

Here's what I get when I input it to the GNU compiler in cmd
move 4 onto 5 // my input
 4 onto 5 //the output

It completed skips the reading of the first string. 

Thank you in advance for your help

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
+1 Mathias Frits Rørvik · July 20, 2014
First of all, you posted your code in the wrong section. This is C, not C++

Your 4 char long arrays are too small to hold a 4 character long string. You set aside space for 4 characters, but what is missing? 

What indicates the end of a string?
0 Arend Peter Castelein · July 20, 2014
My bad, I thought I put it in c++.

Thank you for the help. I looked up the size of chars in c++. I didn't realize it was only 1 byte. I have a Java background so I'm used to them being 2 bytes. I assume string characters in C++ are 2 bytes, is that correct? I tried looking up string character size but I couldn't really find anything. So if I were to use char[8] datatypes instead then would that fix the problem?

I looked into scanf. It returns the number of elements it was able to scan in. I was actually using my return type in my original code. Since the problem involved a variable amount inputs I was able to check for the end of the input this way. It looked something like this.
int main(){
char a[4],c[4];
int b,d;
while(scanf("%4s %d %4s %d",a,&b,c,&d)==4){
//do stuff with a,b,c & d
return 0;

I'm not too worried about input verification in this particular case since there's standardized input which doesn't come from users but I want keep good habits all the same so thanks for the advice.