Why Rent a Server?

+2 Otto Von Chesterfield · August 26, 2015
Hello,

While watching Bucky's MySQL tutorials, I noticed that I was told to rent a server from HostGator (or other MySql Servers). Instead, I searched around the internet, and found out that I just need to call MySql/bin/mysqld from the Terminal to host one on my own.

So why was I told to rent a server?

Post a Reply

Replies

- page 1
Oldest  Newest  Rating
+1 Albo Coder · August 26, 2015
I have no idea what you mean by MySql/bin/mysqld.
But there is a way around this without paying anything.
Try out XAMPP its free and pretty darn useful.
+1 Ron Butcher · September 10, 2015
You can run a web server from your house to host your website.  All you would need to do is to setup LAMP on a dedicated Linux machine (I like Ubuntu Server), forward TCP port 80 from your firewall to the machine, and purchase a Domain name and point it to your public IP Address.  I have been running three different websites for a couple of years now from my home and it works just fine.

Now let me give you some things to consider before doing this:

• Most ISP's will not allow you to host a website from your residential account.  This goes along the lines of "what they don't know won't hurt them" though.  If they find out you are hosting a website (unlikely if you do not have much traffic) they will shut you down.  Shouldn't really be a problem but you should be aware.

• Security is going to be an issue.  As soon as I got a domain name pointed at my public IP, the attempts to hack my network skyrocketed.  Only one bot needs to know about the domain name, or the IP Address and it will start scanning and making any login attempt that it can.  Your ISP should filter out most of this, but you need to make sure that your firewall and servers are locked down as tightly as possible.