Android tutorial, lesson 21: gestures

+1 Rip Van Winkle · August 6, 2015
I just installed Android Studio a few days ago, and started working through these excellent tutorials. Everything worked fine until I couldn't get the example code in lesson 21 to recognize any of my gestures. I eventually found a workaround at http://developer.android.com/training/gestures/detector.html which fixed the problem for me. Here's the workaround, in case it helps anyone else.

First, add the following import statement:
import android.support.v4.view.MotionEventCompat;

Then declare the following variable just inside MainActivity:
private MotionEventCompat e;

Then add this code in addition to the gesture detecting procedures from the tutorial:
@Override
public boolean onTouchEvent(MotionEvent event){
this.gestureDetector.onTouchEvent(event);
// Be sure to call the superclass implementation
return super.onTouchEvent(event);
}

That's it! As a novice, I'm not completely sure why I needed to do this. It looks like something changed between versions? Maybe it's because I'm using AppCompatActivity instead of ActionBarActivity? Or maybe it's something else. This is all very new to me, and I really appreciate that these videos let me jump right in without needing to understand all of the theory first. But if someone could explain a little more about this, I'd be interested.

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Foxpro 007 · August 14, 2015
Hi Rip,

I would be interested as well.

Rip if you are not too tired, sorry bad joke, maybe you could upload all your source code for this module.
I used ActionBarActivity even though it is deprecated but think other people besides me would benefit from seeing all the code from the updated class.

Thanks!
0 Rip Van Winkle · August 18, 2015