Programming Advices Please , How should I start :D

+1 Yara - · July 30, 2015
I am an Electrical-communication Engineering student ( I didn't start yet at the university :angel:) and I've decided to learn Programming , I wish I could learn it from A to Z but I really don't know how should I start , at school we've learnt visual basic and python programming but I didn't practice and I don't really remember anything but I know I liked them ,, lol , lately I started a C++ course and I am really enjoying it and Bucky's videos are my lifesavers thanks God !!
I just want to know if it was a good start and what to learn then and if I have to start with things that can help me with my studies and what are the languages that link with the communication and networking field ..
THANK YOU

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Yara - · August 18, 2015
Thank you guys I appreciate your attention :D
+1 aron B · August 17, 2015
Yara, if you're going into a networking related field, you will want to stick more with scripting languages.  Python is one of the most popular languages currently for networking along side of Perl, so you should definitely refresh on some Python. A high level language might also be good to be comfortable with, such as Java (C++ is good as well).  As Alf said, HTML is a 'Markup language', (Hyper-Text Markup Language) so that would not really be worth your time, although HTML is super easy to learn if you ever got interested in creating Web pages.  If you are wanting to get into more low-level languages for working more directly with hardware, Assembly is where its at, but Assembly is very difficult to learn for some people. A more easier low-level language would be C. My advice would be to choose one language at a time and stick with that.  Trying to learn too much at one time can cause some problems...I remember reading an article on a guy who practically went insane trying to learn 25 languages at one time.
0 Alf Nohr · August 17, 2015