Can programming courses learn you how to program?

+3 Branislav Lazic · July 5, 2015
Ok, this is NOT a question. Consider it more as a blog post. 
I'm not talking about online courses, I'm talking about live courses where you go at classes, do your homework, pay them for teaching you etc. in order to earn some diploma or certificate that will be considered as worthless by any serious company.
The answer on question in the title is obvious: No
They can't. How do I know that? I was a teacher on one of those courses for one month. Except, this one was free. The obvious explanation for that is: Those teachers are not competitive enough. And don't buy their bullshit how they have like 5-10 years of experience in IT. It's about what they know now! Their knowledge is most likely obsolete. They can never be as competitive as good programmers that work like 40 h per week. Now, if you say I'm wrong, take a look at latest video I shared on my profile. You think that you will find teacher on some IT academy that can match that guy? Good luck with that! 
Now, what to do then? All you need, you have online for free. Documentation, videos, books etc. You even have competitive people making videos. Like Adam Bien, Koushik Kothagal, Jirka Pinkas etc. Just save your money, and stop visiting those courses. They lie you and then they will make you to lie yourself.
Best regards.

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Tatrasiel R · July 6, 2015
I think it's clear we've all have had bad teachers and know the value of a good teacher.
+1 Cardinal Coog · July 5, 2015
Touche. I wasn't really being all that serious. I have nothing against teachers(I almost married one). They work hard, they're under-appreciated and underpaid.