linux or windows?????

+1 anshuman patel · July 5, 2015
greetings all

I am new to programming, and I somewhere read that linux is best for programmers. 
I want to know that will I be making a right choice to switch to linux??
and if possible suggest a good distro suited for android/ we development

thanks

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Sam Mazarei · July 9, 2015
I admit, I love playing with my Linux, but so far it's been easier to use Windows for learning Python... IDLE is simple. I tried to use Eric6 and Anjuta and quickly realized I was NOT there yet... lol... but I'm having fun.
0 Branislav Lazic · July 8, 2015

Master .net and you will get a job

Haha. We go off topic. but I actually have to agree with that statement. I remember that once upon time we asked a guy what programming language he knows. He replied: C++. And then we asked: "What do you know to make with C++?". He replied: "Applications for Linux."
Massive eyeroll. :D
It's simple! Marketshare of commercial Linux applications is almost non-existing in comparison with marketshare of .NET commercial applications. Pretty much useless skill for employers. On the other hand, majority of popular programming languages are platform independent so case I mentioned above is pretty much irrelevant and quite rare. But you wish it's everything about ability to run JUST a specific programming language on Linux...
+1 mike richardson · July 8, 2015
Master .net and you will get a job :)
0 Sam Mazarei · July 8, 2015