Why would one want to use number formatting in Java?

0 Edwin Li · April 5, 2015
Hi! I am completely new to Java and I'm learning. 

I'd like to know the advantages of using number formatting, like this:

public class TestFormat {

public static void main(String[] args) {
long n = 461012;
System.out.format("The value of n is: %d%n", n);

and the result after printing is: The value of n is: 461012. 

Wouldn't it be simpler if I just wrote the actual value of n inside my string? Why would I want to use the percent character?

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Edwin Li · April 9, 2015
Ok, I think I get it -  it's just for more elegant code, but it doesn't actually serve much other use than that.

0 steven kitchener · April 8, 2015
If i understand your question correctly, ultimately it is cleaner code.

Say you have 5 variables called num1 to num5 and you wanted to print them all out with spaces in between them you have two choices.

Use System.out.println(""+num1 + " "+num2+" "+num3+" "+num4+" "+num5); or
        System.out.printf(" %d %d %d %d %d%n",num1,num2,num3,num4,num5);

Both give the same output, but personally i prefer the second choice because of the cleaner look to it. But, to be honest you can use either way. I think if you prefer to use the first method then i dont think there is a problem with that. 
0 Edwin Li · April 8, 2015
Ok, thanks guys.
0 Edwin Li · April 8, 2015
But why can't I write n directly? Why bother to write The of n is: %d%n, n if it gives the same output as if I only wrote The value of n is: n?
+1 Dol Lod · April 6, 2015
I think maybe you should learn about when and how you should hardcode. That being said this topic isn't about that, but like Steven says, it is better practice and simpler. 
+1 steven kitchener · April 6, 2015
The reason you dont want to write the actual value into the string (also known as hardcoding) is simply due to the fact of efficiency.