6th Tutorial - If Statements

0 Cardinal Coog · March 28, 2015
Hi. I'm new to C#.

Regarding: 6th video tutorial covering If/else-if statements.

When I run the program it doesn't give the user a chance to enter their name in the text box. It automatically skips to the else statement and ends the program (ie. I can't type in a name to check to see whether the if statement works.)

Thanks for any help.

Here's the code:

using System;
using System.Collections.Generic;
using System.ComponentModel;
using System.Data;
using System.Drawing;
using System.Linq;
using System.Text;
using System.Windows.Forms;

namespace WindowsFormsApplication1
{
    public partial class Form1 : Form
    {
        public Form1()
        {
            InitializeComponent();
        }

private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
        {
            if (textBox1.Text == "Trevor")
            {
             MessageBox.Show("Hello, Trevor!");
            }

else if (textBox1.Text == "Brittany")
            {
                MessageBox.Show("Hi, Brittany!");
            }

else
            {
                MessageBox.Show("User not recognized!");
            }

}
    }
}

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 thomas kensah · March 31, 2015
Yeah Branislav is right. the system first checks the condition when the form loads and at that particular time of checking, the
value in the Text view would be null. That is since you checked for the condition when your app launches, the system already
checked the text in the textbox when it first launched your app and found out it was empty and then moved on to execute the else
statement. you should trigger that condition in the event of a button - which would be something like this

button1_click (Object sender, EventArgs e)
{
//this way it checks the condition after you have entered a value into the textbox and triggered the button's event
if (textBox1.Text == "Trevor")
{
MessageBox1.Show("Hello, Trevor!");
}