Need Help on C++ Tutorial 15 and 42

0 Ehsanul Haque Kanan · March 23, 2015
Hi,

I cannot run the programs of the 15th and the 42nd tutorial of Bucky's C++ tutorial series. I got an error: "cout was not declared in this scope." 

In fact, I cannot run any program which requires to place classes in separate files.

Please, help me. I am new to C++. I am totally stuck! :(

Thanks in advance.

Post a Reply

Replies

- page 1
Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Faha Sharapov · March 24, 2015
I got an error: "cout was not declared in this scope."   -->   are you adding using namespace std; above your int main ()   ?

"In fact, I cannot run any program which requires to place classes in separate files."   -->   if you are using codeblocks, go to Setting/Compiler/Build Options  and then check the Explicitly add currently compiling file's... You should be good then...
0 Ehsanul Haque Kanan · March 24, 2015
Hi Faha,

Thanks for your response. I was not using "using namespace std." That's why, the error was showing. But despite I include it, I still cannot run the program. Now a new error has appeared, stating "no such file or directory" in 2main.

I have also checked the " Explicitly add currently compiling file's" option. But still the program doesn't run.

Here are my codes:

Codes of main.cpp:

#include <iostream>
#include "Sally.h"
using namespace std;

int main()
{
    Sally sallyObject;
    sallyObject.printCrap();

}

Codes of sally.h:

#ifndef SALLY_H
#define SALLY_H

class Sally
{
    public:
        Sally();
        void printCrap();
    protected:
    private:
};

#endif // SALLY_H

Codes of sally.cpp:
#include "Sally.h"
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

Sally::Sally()
{

}

void Sally::printCrap()
{
cout<<"Did someone say steak"<<endl;

}

It would be highly appreciated if you help me to solve the issue. :)

Thanks in advance.
0 Brian Reed · March 24, 2015
Hi Ehsanul,

You're not alone! I too am having issues with this two tutorials.