Need Help on C++ Tutorial 15 and 42

0 Ehsanul Haque Kanan · March 23, 2015
Hi,

I cannot run the programs of the 15th and the 42nd tutorial of Bucky's C++ tutorial series. I got an error: "cout was not declared in this scope." 

In fact, I cannot run any program which requires to place classes in separate files.

Please, help me. I am new to C++. I am totally stuck! :(

Thanks in advance.

Post a Reply

Replies

- page 1
Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Ehsanul Haque Kanan · March 24, 2015
Hi Faha,

I hope that I will get a great solution from you. I am waiting for your next message. :)
0 Faha Sharapov · March 24, 2015
Sorry buddy, was kind of busy doing other things...
I don't see any problem in your code. I tested it, it works fine. Codeblocks version I am using is 13.12 (not sure if this is the reason why it's not showing on your end)
0 Brian Reed · March 25, 2015
Thanks Faha, I tried the explicit settings and no joy. I dropped in Sally (also sally.h) under the compiler/ #Defines and had the best improved results ( line error numbers are as per code, and code as per tutorial).

Here are the new errors (gives me hope to find fault):
C:\Users\user\Desktop\C++\Sally.h|4|error: expected identifier before numeric constant|
C:\Users\user\Desktop\C++\Sally.h|4|error: expected unqualified-id before numeric constant|
C:\Users\user\Desktop\C++\main.cpp||In function 'int main()':|
C:\Users\user\Desktop\C++\main.cpp|7|error: expected ';' before 'sallyObject'|
C:\Users\user\Desktop\C++\main.cpp|9|error: 'sallyObject' was not declared in this scope

Ehsanul, will get through this one way or another, worst case is to find a work around.

Cheers,
Brian 
0 Ehsanul Haque Kanan · March 25, 2015
Hi Faha,

I am also using version 13.12.
0 Faha Sharapov · March 25, 2015
Brian, post your code and let's see why it's giving you these errors.
0 Ehsanul Haque Kanan · March 25, 2015
Will no one be able to solve this issue?:'(
Faha,
Here is the code

main.cpp
#include <iostream>
#include "Sally.h"