Noob here Just curious learning to code

+1 Lucas Cowles · February 14, 2015
Hello all,

I have been following Buckey's tutorials and I add something to the end of them just to see what would happen. This time I added something really simple but the code did not give me the output I expected here is the code. 

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
    float grade = 0;
    float scoreEntered = 0;
    float numberoftest = 0;
    float avg = 0;

printf("Press 0 when complete. \n\n");

do {
           printf("test:%.0f\t\tAverage:%.02f \n", numberoftest, avg);
           printf("\n Enter test score: ");
           scanf(" %f",&scoreEntered);
           grade += scoreEntered;
           avg = grade / numberoftest;

}while(scoreEntered !=0);

return 0;
 output on the averages are about 21 points different.

Just curious as to why?

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Tomislav Keškić · February 14, 2015
try to initialize grade,scoreEnter,etc to 0.0 and run the program again
0 Lazar Bulic · February 14, 2015
Just remove 0 if front of 2f
I am talking about this line: 

Also you can simplify you code by merging these to lines:

you don't have to set value to  scoreEntered. 
0 Lucas Cowles · February 15, 2015
Thanks for the replies.

Lazer, I removed the 0. I thought man it was that easy......but that did not solve it.. I tried combining the code but that opened up a whole new can of worms. I changed the code but still getting the the mix match in the average.
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main()
    float grade = 0.0;
    float scoreEntered = 0.0;
    float numberoftest = 0.0;
    float avg = 0.0;

printf("Press 0 when complete. \n\n");

printf("test: %.0f \t\t Average: %.2f \n", numberoftest, avg);
            printf("\n Enter test score: ");
            scanf(" %f", &scoreEntered);
            grade += scoreEntered;

printf("your total average is: %.2f ",avg);

return 0;
0 imran LP · February 15, 2015