Connecting web database to android app

0 Fred carter · June 9, 2014
Hey guys,
I'm new to programming and I've watched most of bucky's tutorials on Android programming. I am trying to have my android app import info from my website database and use it. I currently have a website that is using xml databasing. Do I need to convert the database to another format to make life easier? If my xml database is ok to use, is there a tutorial that can show me how to begin integrating the database into my app?

I hope my questions are clear.
Thank you in advance

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Fred carter · June 10, 2014
thanks for the response Brano. My website uses xml for the database of different users and settings. I was asking if I should attempt to convert the database to something else such as JSON, MYSQL or any of the other databasing formats. I apologize if I was being too vague. But I suppose knowing the proper terminology would help if im trying to program stuff :) "Parsing" is the word that I was looking for. My website has different users that are password protected so I need to be able to be able to allow each user to log in to there own account. I am clueless on how to do this.
I am still further researching but any additional help or insight on where to search or what tutorials to watch would be greatly appreciated.
thanks everybody.
0 Fred carter · June 10, 2014
Yes Brano, My website databases are in xml format, but I want to be able to parse them with an android app. So Yoncho, are you suggesting that I should convert my databases into an SQL format?
And my databases have the potential to become very large.
0 Yoncho Yonchev · June 11, 2014