Website help! (please)

+2 Luis Hiraldo · December 24, 2014
I am new at coding!
I'm trying to do a post thing but can't seem to figure it out!

So, it's a picture with a label on the bottom

https://www.thenewboston.com/images/forum/upload/2014-12-25/a84178ea72d12846dd306847543f15e2.png

And when you hover over it a description slides up, like in the next picture!

/images/forum/upload/2014-12-25/85f1c622e87d3233987124bf363245ef.png

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Luis Hiraldo · December 30, 2014
Wheately Core thanks, I tweaked a little the code for what I wanted to do and worked perfectly.

And also I'll check out on jquery!
0 Predrag Kostic · December 29, 2014
To be honest I don't know the right way to do things is, only the easiest. In the future I shall suggest both: The easiest way to do it IMO is to use jQuery and the right way to do it is using CSS transitions, or is it.. that blog post mentioned something even more performant.
Nobody here cares about the best performing choice, OP is simply wanting a simple way for a simple task, he's not making a movie (I guess).
You shouldn't use such exaggerated adjectives, jQuery is in no way terrible, sure it may be less performant(not a real word) than CSS but it will have no problem animating a web page.
Because it's easy is exactly why he should use it in my opinion.

By the way that looks like a blog post created to promote VelocityJS, whether it is or not I don't know though? But it's funny.
Wheately, while I agree with you on a certain point, you're wrong when you say jQuery is not made for animations, because it is:

jQuery is a fast, small, and feature-rich JavaScript library. It makes things like HTML document traversal and manipulation, event handling, animation, and Ajax much simpler with an easy-to-use API that works across a multitude of browsers. With a combination of versatility and extensibility, jQuery has changed the way that millions of people write JavaScript.