+2 Gary Miller · November 18, 2014
RewriteEngine On
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /lr/profile.php?username=$1

This is my .htaccess and it works very well. If i click a <a> tag that is echoing a username it takes me to that users profile. I want this to work the same for school_name

RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /lr/schoolRegister.php?school_name=$1

I thought using the same line and changing username to school_name would work but it doesn't/ They both won't work at the same time. I have no knowledge in rewrites and would appreciate some help.

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 Ron Butcher · November 18, 2014
Can you post what your links look like?

^(.*)$ is a default that takes every input and transfers it to the username variable.  The resolution is going to be either to break the rewrite rules down to be more specific, or to change how your links are handled by your PHP.

One way to do it would be to make you links look like this:
<a href="/profile/username/Ron/">Username Link</a>
<a href="/profile/school/school_name/">School Link</a>

In this case, your .htaccess will look like:
RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^profile/username/[_0-9a-z]+/$ /lr/profile.php?username=$1
RewriteRule ^profile/school/[_0-9a-z]+/$ /lr/profile.php?school_name=$1
0 Gary Miller · November 20, 2014

<a href="<?php echo $user_data['username'];?>">Profile</a>

<a href="<?php echo $school_data['school_name']?>"></a>

I'm gonna try to use what you previously put but these are the links. What do you think is the best way to do this?
its rewriting but not taking me to the page
0 Ron Butcher · November 20, 2014
Your links are going to need to have a little more data.  And they will need to match the first half of the rewrite rule in the .htaccess file.

Two questions before I give you some more code.
1.  What directory is your .htaccess file in?  Is it in the root directory of your website, or the 'lr' directory?