Hello Everyone and a Question to ask

0 Cameron Reuss · September 8, 2014
Hey people! I came across NewBoston website few months ago when I was browsing different forum and I liked it a lot. However, I would like to introduce myself. My name is Cameron, but everyone calls me Cam. I'm currently studying Computer Science at University of IL at Chicago and I'm beginning the 2nd year as right now. I have to admit I'm not very talented at programming and I'm pretty behind. I tried to learn very hard, but it seems learning information at school seems to be not the right fit for me? My learning style is "learning stuff off the street". I strongly believe I would improve a lot if I have a good mentor or whatever. So the one million dollar questions is if I want to drop out of school, how do i find a good programming job without CS degree? I hope to hear from you guys soon!

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
0 George Williams · September 9, 2014
I would suggest Ruby as a starting language simply because it is as easy to learn as pascal while having mostly the same syntax as python, so whenever your ready, learning python will be like reviewing your old Ruby work. Ruby is also flexible and powerful, For Example :

https://buckysroom.org/forum/topic.php?id=1715

Something like that is just scratching the surface of what Ruby can do so like I said, Learn Ruby.

Regarding Gary Murphy, Ruby programmers do get paid an average of $94000 dollars and I believe the main reason for that is because the security business and marketing companies see the power of Ruby, that or they just hating on Python :D
0 Gary Murphy · September 9, 2014
I don't know much about Ruby, but I hear the programmers earn slightly more than most others for some reason so it's probably not a bad choice.
I'm quite new to programming myself so I'm not sure what to suggest in the way of books, but take a look at this thread where some people are listing their recommendations.