Best Books for Beginners

0 Jeremy Hewitt · September 7, 2014
I'm just getting into programming, trying to start with C++, but I'm avoiding those "Dummies" & "1 hour a day" or "in 24 hours" type books.

I currently have...
C++ Programming: Program Design including Data Structure (6th) 2013
C++ Programming: From Problem Analysis to Program Design (6th) 2013
&
C++: Primer Plus (6th) 2012

and they seem very detailed and in depth, I picked them up because most college professors and students recommend these, but are there any other books you would recommend for true "beginners" to any kind of C++ programming ???

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
+2 Çağlan Turgut · September 7, 2014
I didn't read any books for beginners but starting with C++ is fairly easy so I recommend you to use Internet for beginning then you can read more popular books.

After watching the C++ series of Bucky and writing some simple programs (that will lead you to research, make you better at practice and learn some technical stuff) you should be good to go and buy most of the intermediate books out there.

I've heard that book from someone though I'm not sure if its good or bad but be aware that this is a really old book:

http://www.informit.com/store/accelerated-c-plus-plus-practical-programming-by-example-9780201703535
0 korchix kaporal · September 9, 2014
how about this one
http://www.amazon.com/Program-Objects-Version-Edition-Deitel/dp/0133378713/ref=cm_cr_pr_pdt_img_top?ie=UTF8
0 Jeremy Hewitt · September 9, 2014
@ Devon Horton...
You, pegged me lol I picked up,
Beginning C++ Through Game Programming 3rd
Game Programming All in One 3rd
&
High Performance Game Programming in C ++

for when I get better, I was going to make of whole line of SNES style Zelda, FF & Metroid games for the inlaws, kids & wife just for fun, maybe putting them out on the indie and/or homebrew networks :)
0 Devon Horton · September 11, 2014