Creating a directory/folder on a mac

+1 Cem Saglam · August 20, 2014
Hello,

I'm extremely new in using a mac, so I'm not good with directories, pathnames etc. (a minute to laugh)
Simply, all I want to do is to create a .txt file in which I'll store data. On windows I can just store that in C:/stuff or something. Can you suggest a stable path name like C:/stuff for mac?

ps: may be an extremely simple/stupid question. Yet I literally know very little about mac.

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
+4 Mathias Frits Rørvik · August 20, 2014
/ is the root folder, it is equivalent of C: on windows.

/Users/<your username>

This is your home folder, this is where you should store all your files. You can create your own directories here if you want. 

I personally have created a directory in my home directory /Users/cyanboy/ called Development where I again have subfolders for all my programming related projects.

Also you should have posted this topic in the Apple/Mac forum, not the Java forum ;)
+3 Mathias Frits Rørvik · August 20, 2014
I'm not sure if I quite understand what you're trying to say. Your java program is doing operations on a file, right? 
+2 Cem Saglam · August 20, 2014
Firstly, sorry about the wrong post place. Since I was coding in Java I assumed it'd be fine, as I'm trying to create a directory. ^^'

I tried what you suggested, and it worked, so thanks!
BUT, assume I'll be sharing this program with other mac users. The folder will try to be created at <myusername>, but that is not the case in any other computer.
Any opinions on that?
+2 Cem Saglam · August 20, 2014
Yes, it does.
Let me put it this way, quoting what you typed:

/ is the root folder, it is equivalent of C: on windows.

/Users/<your username>

Say my username is abc.
I can create and handle my files using /Users/abc (ON MY COMPUTER), which is great.