Detecting almost prime numbers

+1 Ashy - · August 15, 2014
Hi everyone.

I am currently studying java and still at the beginner level but would love it if I could get help with some of my work. As of now I am trying to write down a code that detects numbers that are nearly prime numbers. As prime numbers are numbers that are only divisible by itself and one, I want to write a method that detects numbers that can be divisible by only 3 positive numbers.

So numbers such as 4 and 9 are examples of these since they can be divided by 3 numbers (1, 2, 4, and 1, 3,9). I already have a formula for prime numbers which I just found online but am having trouble figuring out a method to detect numbers that are close to prime numbers.

Any suggestions on how to code something like this? It'll be greatly appreciated.

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
+1 Çağlan Turgut · August 15, 2014
Made that simple console application that divides each number  by each number that are smaller. That returns the remainders as a list and if the list has 3 elements then puts the bigger number into another list. Then prints that list. Sorry if I couldn't explain well. Here's the code:
import java.util.*;
import java.util.Scanner;
public class almostp {

public static void main(String arg[]){
        System.out.println("Calculate the 'Almost Prime' Numbers till ... :");
        Scanner sc = new Scanner(;
        int x = sc.nextInt();
        List<Integer> list1 = new ArrayList<Integer>();
        for (int i = 1;i <= x;i++){
                int rmd = 1;
                int counter = 1;
                List<Integer> list2 = new ArrayList<Integer>();
                while(counter <= i){
                    rmd = i%counter;
                    if (rmd == 0){
        for (Integer number : list1) {
+1 Çağlan Turgut · August 17, 2014