how do i get better at coding?

+3 Shunryui Nik · August 10, 2014
hello guys,as we can become master in mathematics by practice only....and i am really good at maths..i mean i can figure out quickly what is needed in particular situation in a math my question is,how do i get better at programming?
if you guys know some examples..pls send me a link!!!
i know java(except networking,event handling,generics,applet,awt) but i'm studying it and by studying i mean only knowing what it is??? not doing much of a programming!!!
and also i am watching buckys android programming tutorial and have 86 tutorials till now....i got all those concepts...but i haven't really implemented them on my own... so how do master them all??should i stop learning and start practicing or something like that.....any suggestions???do reply!!!
thanks in advance!!!

Post a Reply

Oldest  Newest  Rating
+8 Eugene Botma · August 10, 2014
Practice practice practice.

When I started programming, I just wrote hundreds of small simple programs for thing I did a lot on the computer, for example I wrote a program that would copy over my "My Documents" folder to my external every Sunday at 5 pm. And this is a simple thing to do, and there are already a lot of programs that do similar things, but I personally learned a lot from the experience.

In my experience, people usually take one of 2 approaches (or both).

1: Write many small programs that do different things. Whenever you learn something new, write a few small programs that do that thing you learned so you are sure you know how it works. Eventually you will start using more and more things together and be able to build bigger and more complex programs.