class and id - difference

+2 Matthieu Burot · August 1, 2014
Hey there !

Well i got a really big problem here. I mean i did watch all those xhtml and css tutorials but when it comes to building a webpage i still have huuuuuge problems especially with the difference beween class and id.

Can sb explain the difference in easy words to me ?

Because when i create a webpage and build different sections on the page i use div in combination with ... ? would i use id or class? I have done it with id all the time but i think class would do the same .. right ? 

best,
matty

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
+1 Matthieu Burot · August 1, 2014
I meant somebody, sry - I will keep that in mind :)

Thanks for that reply  ! That does make sence, totally !
+1 Ray LeDuc · August 25, 2014
@Matthieu Burot  an ID may only be used to style  1 element where as you can use a class on multiple elements. I'm new to Bucky's room I know you probably already found your answer but posting just in case you did not or someone else is having same issue. Good Luck. 

Ray
0 Predrag Kostic · August 25, 2014
You can always use Google!

This will explain everything in detail:

http://css-tricks.com/the-difference-between-id-and-class/

Keep this site in your bookmarks as it can help a lot with HTML/CSS/PHP/JavaScript/JQuery/other stuff.

If you don't have time for all that:

Basically ID's are unique/and can only be applied to one element. While classes are more like a group that a bunch of elements can be a part of.

Keep these rules in mind:

• Each element can have only one ID

• Each page can have only one element with that ID

• You can use the same class on multiple elements.

• You can use multiple classes on the same element.

0 Yannis Sp · August 25, 2014