Getting "Failed To Install HAXAM" Message and More Errors

+1 Tommy Morris · October 28, 2015
Hi everyone, I am new to app development and new to the community.  I took a few programming languages years agon but has worked as a non-programming engineer.  There are apps that I want to develop so I decided to brush up on my programming skills.  I hope everyone will have patience with me as I ask a few questions.

1.  I downloaded and installed Android SDK and Java JDKs.
I downloaded and installed more than on JDK, including NetBean.  Does it cause problems to install more than one JDK?

2.  While installing the Android SDK I got the following message:
"Failed to install Intel HAXAM.  For details please check the installation log.  “C\Users\tommylee\AppData\Local\Temp\nsaB591.tmp\haxm_silent_run.log”.

3.  After installing the Android SDK and running it as Administrator I got the following error message:
"Error:(24, 13) Failed to resolve: com.android.support:appcompat-v7:23.1.0

<a href="install.m2.repo">Install Repository and sync project</a><br><a href="openFile:C:/Users/tommylee/AndroidStudioProjects/MyApplication2/app/build.gradle">Show in File</a><br><a href="open.dependency.in.project.structure">Show in Project Structure dialog</a>".

Can someone please advise?

Thanks in advance

Post a Reply

Replies

Oldest  Newest  Rating
+1 Gary Whitney · October 28, 2015
Tommy
I am no expert but here is what I think.
1. It probably doesn't hurt to have 2 JDKs but A.S. needs to know which one. The default is the Java jdk and it probably picked that one.
2. Read the following and keep it handy in case you upgrade the HAXM (like I did today)
There are different AVDs, Those that use x86 and those that don't.

If you have  and Intel processor that supports HAXM then you can use the AVDs that use x86 system images.

Click the device you want to use in AVD manager and click the  edit icon.

the second line down will confirm if the device is using an x86 system image.